About AWBI

Ministry of Fisheries, Animal Husbandry and Dairying (Department of Animal Husbandry and Dairying)

Animal Welfare Board of India

The Animal Welfare Board of India is a statutory advisory body on Animal Welfare Laws and promotes animal welfare in the country. Established in 1962 under Section 4 of the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960 (No. 59 of 1960), the Animal Welfare Board of India was started under the stewardship of Late Smt. Rukmini Devi Arundale, well known humanitarian. From ensuring that animal welfare laws in the country are diligently followed, to provide grants to Animal Welfare Organizations and advising the Government of India on animal welfare issues, the Board has been the face of the animal welfare movement in the country for the last 50 years.
The Board consists of 28 Members. The term of office of Members is for a period of 3 years.

Constitution of Animal Welfare Board of India

The Animal Welfare Board of India, the first of its kind to be established by any Government in the world, was set up in 1962, in accordance with Section 4 of the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Acts 1960 (No.59 of 1960).
Shrimati Rukmini Devi Arundale pioneered the setting up of the Board, with its Headquaters at Chennai. She guided the activities of the Board for nearly twenty years till her demise in 1986.

  • Chairman
  • Vice - Chairman *
  • Inspectors General of Forests (1)
  • Animal Husbandry Commissioner (1)
  • Rep of Miny. of Home Affairs (1)
  • Rep of Miny. of HRD (Education) (1)
  • MPs - Lok Sabha * (4)
  • MPs - Rajya Sabha * (2)
  • Individuals(3)
  • Humanitarians(3)
  • SPCAs (3)
  • AWOs (3)
  • Rep. of Indian Board for Wildlife (1)
  • Rep. of Indian Veterinary Assn. (1)
  • Rep. of Indian Medicine (1)
  • Rep. of Allopathic Medicine (1)
  • Municipal Corporations (2)

Total 28

* To be nominated

Chairman Dr. O.P. Chaudhary, IFS

Dr. O.P. Chaudhary

Dr. O.P. Chaudhary, a senior IFS officer of Madhya Pradesh cadre (1989 batch), has vast and varied experience in the field of administration, policy formulation, regulation, implementation, training and education.
He started his career from District level thereafter he worked at Divisional level and State level at various positions in State of Madhya Pradesh. Presently he is working as a Joint Secretary, in the Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers' Welfare, Government of India dealing on policy matters and implementation of National Schemes. He is also National Mission Leader for National Livestock Mission.
Before the central assignments, other important positions he served are: Chief Conservator of Forest (CCF), in the State of Madhya Pradesh; Vice Chancellor, Singhania University, Rajasthan and Regional Provident Fund Commissioner, EPFO, Ministry of Labour, Government of India.
He is highly qualified environmental engineer turned as most dedicated and committed bureaucrat with passion of environmental conservation and sustainable development. He has very brilliant track record during his past services as well as having academic excellence in higher studies from top Institutions in the country - M.Tech from IIT Roorkee, One Year General Management Programme for Executive from IIM Lucknow and also obtained Doctorate Degree in Finance Management from Symbiosis International University, Pune. He has also credit of the various technical and scientific publications.
He has widely travelled across the country and overseas, represented the country on various fora and honoured from time to time for his outstanding contributions in the area of public administration, implementation of the programs and educational advancement. He has also headed and supervised National Schemes.

Secretary Dr. Sujit Kumar Dutta

Dr S K Dutta

Board Members

Dr. O. P. Chaudhary, IFS

Chairman, AWBI & Joint Secretary (AW)

Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers' Welfare
(Department of Animal husbandry and Dairying), Govt. of India
Krishi Bhawan, New Delhi-110001
Phone: 011 2338 7804
Email: jspf-dadf@nic.in

Shri Sidhhanta Das, IFS

Director General of Forests & Special Secretary

Ministry of Environment Forests & Climate Change, Govt. of India, Vayu Block, Indira Paryavaran Bhawan, Jor Bagh Road, New Delhi-110 003.
Phone: 011-24695282
Email: ishita.edu@gov.in

Dr. Praveen Malik

Animal Husbandry Commissioner,

Ministry of Agriculture, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi-110 011
Phone: 011-23384146
Email: ahc-dadf@nic.in

Shri V.B.Dubey

Joint Secretary (Judicial)

Ministry of Home Affairs, North Block, Central Secretariat,
New Delhi -110 001.
Email: vinoydubey@yahoo.co.in

Ms.Ishita Roy

Joint Secretary (Higher Education)

Ministry of Human Resources Development, Department of Higher Education 109 C – Wing, Shastri Bhawan
Phone: 011-23381721
Email: ishita.edu@gov.in

Shri Soumitra Dasgupta, IFS

Inspector General of Forests (Wildlife),

Ministry of Environment Forests & Climate Change, Govt. of India, Vayu Block, V Floor, Indira Paryavaran Bhawan, Jor Bagh Road,
New Delhi-110 003.
Phone: 011-24364791
Email: igfwl-mef@nic.in

Shri Mohan Singh Ahluwalia

#302,G.H.S. 14,Sector 24, Panchkula , Haryana
Mobile: 9416456021
Email: mohansinghahluwalia.info@gmail.com

Shri Rajeev Gupta, IAS (Retd.)

Former Secretary, Dept. of Youth Affairs

1004, Tenth floor, Indira Bhawan Lucknow – Uttar Pradesh.
Mobile : 09873592226, 09868503311
Email: rajeev_gupta_ias@yahoo.co.in

Shri Girish J. Shah

101, Atmaj Apartment, Opp: Cumbala Hospital, August Kranti Marg, Mumbai – 400036.
Mobile : 09820020976
Email: samastmahajan9@gmail.com

Prof. R.S. Chauhan

College of Veterinary and Animal Science,

Department of Pathology, Pantnagar – 263145, Distt. U.S. Nagar, (Uttarakhand)
Mobile : 09412288343, 09711585882
Email: profrschauhan@rediffmail.com profchauhan58@gmail.com

Dr. Vaidya Hitesh Jani,

Head & No.102, Center Point Apts.

Indira Road, Near Gurudwara-361 008, Jamnagar, Gujarat Ayurved University.
Mobile : 09825212333
Email: dr_hitesh_jani2000@yahoo.com

Dr.Rajni Kaul

Scientist G,

Indian Council of Medical Research Ramalingaswamy Bhawan Post Box No. 4911, Ansari Nagar, New Delhi – 110 029
Tel: 011-26589452 / 011- 24648995
Fax: 011-26589791 Mobile : 09810826555
Email: kaulr.hq@icmr.gov.in

Shri Ram Krishan Raghuvanshi

People for Animal Jankalayan Samiti

Royal City Vidisha – 464001, Madhya Pradesh
Mobile : 09425148866
Email: ram89651@gmail.com

Shri S.P. Gupta, IAS (Retd.)

Founder Chairman, People’s Voice, Kamdhenu Gowdham & Kamdhenu Arogya Sansthan
Village – Bissar-Akbarpur, Naurangpur-Hasanpur Road Tehsil – Taru, Dist. Nuh, Haryana – 122 105
Phone: 9999101500
Email: spguptaias@gmail.com

Shri Ajit Sharad Kelkar

Abhinav Centre for Development of Agriculture Human Resources Samiti 75

Greater Tirupati Colony, Indore – 452 001 (MP)
Phone: 0731-2493613
Mobile : 9424877363
Email: ahrdoindia@gmail.com

Shri Dhan Pal Singh

Gayatri Parivaar, Dev Sanskriti Vishwavidhyala, Haridwar,
Mobile: 09258369532
Email: dpsingh_kamal@yahoo.com

Dr. Prakash Amte Director

Amte’s Animal Ark At: Hemalkasa, Post Bhamragad, Dist. Gadchiroli,
Maharashtra – 442 710
Mobile: 7588772857 / 58 / 60
Email: aniketamte@gmail.com

Shri Rakesh Gupta

President Gopal Gausadan

New Delhi 38, Rani Jhansi Road Jhandewalan, New Delhi – 110 055
Phone. 011-23552627
Email: chairman@sadhna.com

Shri Sunil Mansinghka

Gauvigyan Anusandhan Kendra, Devlapar

Kamdhenu Bhavan, Pandit Bachrajji Vyas Chowk, Chitar Oli Mahal, Nagpur – 441 432
Tel: 0712-2772273, 2734182
Mobile : 09422101324
Email: gauvigyan@gmail.com

Ms. Anjali Gopalan

Founder of Animal Sanctuary All Creatures Great and Small

D-45, Gulmohar Park New Delhi – 110 049
Mobile: 9910308374
Email: gopalan.anjali@gmail.com

The Commissioner

Municipal Corporation of Guwahati

M.G.Road, Pan Bazaar, Guwahati -781 001, Assam
Email: gmccom@gmail.com

The Commissioner

Municipal Corporation of Hubli-Dharwad

Sir Siddappa Kambli Road Hubli : 580020 Karnataka
Email: commissioner.hdmc@gmail.com